College students and Pennsylvania prosecuted

Let it be their first or last year, all students should know about the sur & # 39; serious consequences that they could face when night, seemingly innocent fun ended with the arrest. Criminal cases for the use of false identities minors alcohol or marijuana can follow students for a long time after obtaining a degree.

Conviction for certain crimes, such as, for possession of marijuana can lead to a criminal record. Other fees, such as the n & # 39; yanstva may arise when checking the vehicle. Conviction may hinder the students work in a highly competitive labor market and may limit their opportunities for admission to graduate school, for example, law school and medical school. Moreover, criminal records related to drugs (including simple possession), may prevent the students to various types of student aid and student loans.

Fake Pennsylvania laws

Minors under 21 years who are in false identities, using false identities to buy or attempt to buy alcohol, or verbally inform someone that they are 21 years or older to buy alcohol can be pre & # 39; revealed by the prosecution in one of the these crimes:

* A misconception about the age for liquor or malt or boiled beverages (18 PA CSA 6307)

* A fake identity card (18 PA CSA 6310.3)

Misidentification involves the use or possession of another person's identity, which is an adult, either using either the presence of an identifier with false data about age, name and / or date of birth, regardless of whether the student's own photo. it.

The first offense for violation of the legislation on counterfeit state laws – is the mutual crimes and are usually punishable by a fine. The following offenses, however, make up the third-degree offenses and provide for increased penalties. Penalties for violating these laws may include:

* $ 300 fine for a first offense

* $ 500 fine for a second or subsequent offense

* Up to 90 days in prison

* Loss of the right to drive the car for 90 days for the first offense, one year for the second offense and two years for the third offense

If the student before the & # 39; is the price of one of the laws on fake identity card, the police inform the parents.
Incomplete drink (UAD)

College students who have not reached the legal age of alcohol, which turned out to be buying or attempting to buy alcohol, drinking alcohol, possession of alcoholic beverages or alcohol transportation to their cars can charge in accordance with the 18 PA CSA 6308 for violation of minors in the use of alcohol. The first time SDA crime is treated as short a crime, and subsequent offenses are treated as third-degree offenses.

Penalties for drinking alcohol in Pennsylvania include:

* $ 300 fine for a first offense

* $ 500 fine for the second and each subsequent offense

* Up to 90 days in prison

* Loss of the right to drive the car for 90 days for the first offense, one year for the second offense and two years for the third offense

possession of marijuana

Penalties for possession of marijuana more serious & # 39; severe than those who drank underage. Highness punishment depends on how much marijuana was in the possession of the student at the time of arrest.

* If the amount of 30 grams or less, the student can pre & # 39; to reveal the charge of possession of small amounts of marijuana and sentenced to 30 days in jail and pay a maximum $ 500 fine

* If the amount was more than 30 grams, before students can & # 39; to reveal the charge of possession of marijuana and was sentenced to one year in prison and to pay a maximum $ 5,000 fine

Student convicted of possession of marijuana, also lose their right to drive for 6 months for the first conviction, one year after the second conviction and two years for a third or subsequent conviction.

Students got to drug paraphernalia in their possession? like a pot? They can be charged with an additional crime, which provides up to 1 year in prison and a maximum $ 2,500 fine. The penalty for possession of marijuana increases for any subsequent violations.
Influence of drug addicts to help students

In addition to fines and potential imprisonment, students who have been convicted of drug according to the federal or state laws also face the possibility of losing the right to certain forms of student aid. According to the Higher Education Act 1998, students convicted of any offense connected with the storage or sale of controlled substances, are not eligible to receive a federal grant, loan or help to work for a certain period of time, depending on the offense.

For example, if a college student is convicted of an offense involving possession of drugs, it is not eligible for assistance to students during the year after the verdict. uselessness of the period is extended to two years for a second offense, and a third or subsequent offense makes the student unsuitable for infinity.

The penalties for conviction of crimes related to the sale of a controlled substance, amplified: a first offense leads to unfair financial assistance for two years, and a second or subsequent offense means that the student can not be appointed for an indefinite period.
conclusion

If you pre & # 39; have revealed the prosecution of a crime, even a misdemeanor, it is important to start as soon as possible to work with an experienced criminal defense attorney to minimize the consequences of the charges. In some cases, you will be able to complete the program of public service or other type of accelerated rehabilitation dyversiyanalnay program (ARD), to reduce or eliminate penalties against you.

Do not underestimate the number of issues that you may have. Conviction for any crime can be devastating for your car & # 39; sphere in college and affect your ability to find a job after graduation.